Commonwealth Honors College
PATHS
Online Tools for the CHC Community

Comments? Questions? Contact us.


HONORS PROGRAM DIRECTORS

This advisor from your major department acts as a liaison to Commonwealth Honors College and oversees honors students who are pursuing departmental honors. You should see your Honors Program Director (HPD) before and during your research process. This advisor also reviews honors independent studies and course substitutions for departmental honors credit and is a good resource if you are having difficulty finding departmentally based honors courses or research committee members.

Department Name Phone Email Note
Accounting Trafford, Pamela S 413 545 5633 ptrafford@isenberg.umass.edu
Afro-American Studies Shabazz, Amilcar 413-545-2751, 413-545-5019 shabazz@umass.edu
Animal Science Tremblay, Kim D 413 545 5560 kdtrembl@vasci.umass.edu
Anthropology Perez, Ventura R 413 577 0662 vrperez@anthro.umass.edu
Arabic El-Hibri, Tayeb 413 545 5874 telhibri@judnea.umass.edu
Architecture and Design Mann, Ray Kinoshita 413 577 0943 rkmann@umass.edu
Art Valdes, Juana M jmvaldes@umass.edu
History of Art and Architecture Vickery, Margaret B 413 545 6616 mvickery@arthist.umass.edu
Arts Extension Boyle-Clapp, Dee L 413 545 2360 dboyle-clapp@acad.umass.edu
Asian Studies Sono, Reiko 413 545 4947 rsono@asianlan.umass.edu
Astronomy Yun, Min S 413 545 2215 myun@astro.umass.edu
Building & Construction Technology Kim, Ho-Sung 413 545 1970 kimhs@umass.edu
Bachelor's Degree with Individual Concentration Brashear-Alejandro, Thomas G 413 545 5666 brashear@isenberg.umass.edu
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Hebert, Daniel 413-545-0079 dhebert@biochem.umass.edu Student last names M-Z
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Wang, Dong 413 545 4806 dongw@biochem.umass.edu Student last names A-L
Biology Okusu, Akiko 413-545-4400 aokusu@umass.edu Student last names A-J
Biology Pallas, Sarah 413-577-2254 spallas@umass.edu Student last names K-Z
Biomedical Engineering Wojda, Samantha J 413 545 0231 swojda@umass.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering Ai, Chengbo 413 577 1273 chengbo.ai@umass.edu
Chemistry Fermann, Justin T 413 545 2054 fermann@chem.umass.edu
Chemical Engineering Fan, Wei 413 545 1750 wfan@ecs.umass.edu
Chinese Zhang, Enhua 413 545 4946 ezhang@llc.umass.edu
Information and Computer Sciences Thomas, Philip Sebastian 413 545 1158 pthomas@umass.edu This Subject is only for 1-2 credit honors add-ons to CICS courses. All others must be assigned under COMPSCI or INFO
Classics Oswald, Simon Mark 413 545 0512 soswald@umass.edu
Communication Scharrer, Erica 413 545 1311 scharrer@comm.umass.edu
Comparative Literature Green, Rachel 512-955-0209 rachel.green@complit.umass.edu
Computer Science Thomas, Philip Sebastian 413 545 1158 pthomas@umass.edu
Dance Vacanti, Thomas L 413 545 4078 tvacanti@dance.umass.edu
Danish Sullivan, Robert G 413 545 6672 sullivan@german.umass.edu
Dutch Sullivan, Robert G 413 545 6672 sullivan@german.umass.edu
Electrical and Computer Engineering Anderson, Neal G 413 545 0765 anderson@ecs.umass.edu For ISH, HI and 499T or P proposals submitted August 1, 2023 or after.
Earth Systems Clement, Bill 413-545-5910 wclement@umass.edu
Economics Sher, Itai isher@umass.edu
Education Cammack, Camille Camille 413 545 5734 jcammack@educ.umass.edu
Engineering Civjan, Scott Adam 413 545 2521 civjan@umass.edu Reviews colloqs and independent studies listed for ENGIN but not any specific engineering department.
English Greve, Janis J 413 545 1612 jgreve@english.umass.edu
Environmental Sciences Averill, Anne L 413 545 1054 averill@eco.umass.edu
Film Studies Pope, Daniel J 413 545 7181 daniel@umass.edu
Finance Macchiavelli, Marco mmacchiavelli@isenberg.umass.edu
Food Science Grossmann, Lutz 413-545-2276 lkgrossmann@umass.edu
French and Francophone Studies Vulor, Ena 413-545-6716 evulor@umass.edu
Geosciences Clement, Bill 413-545-5910 wclement@umass.edu
Geography Yu, Qian 413-545-2095 qyu@umass.edu
Geology Clement, Bill 413-545-5910 wclement@umass.edu
German Sullivan, Robert G 413 545 6672 sullivan@german.umass.edu
Greek Oswald, Simon Mark 413 545 0512 soswald@umass.edu
Hebrew Zussman, Ofir 413 545 5800 ozussman@judnea.umass.edu
History Gordon, Daniel L 413 545 2223 dgordon@history.umass.edu
Honors/Commonwealth College Carbone, Elena T 413 545 1071 ecarbone@nutrition.umass.edu
Hospitality & Tourism Management Uysal, Muzzo 413-545-2061 muysal@isenberg.umass.edu
Human Development Cammack, Camille Camille 413 545 5734 jcammack@educ.umass.edu
Integrated Concentration in Science Fermann, Justin T 413 545 2054 fermann@chem.umass.edu
Informatics Thomas, Philip Sebastian 413 545 1158 pthomas@umass.edu
Italian Studies Malaguti, Andrea 413 545 4951 malaguti@frital.umass.edu
Japanese Sono, Reiko 413 545 4947 rsono@asianlan.umass.edu
Journalism Zamith, Rodrigo rzamith@umass.edu
Judaic Studies Shapiro, Susan E 413 545 4464 shapiro@judnea.umass.edu
Kinesiology St Laurent, Thomas G 413 545 6438 tstlaurent@kin.umass.edu
Landscape Architecture Clouse, Carey clouse@umass.edu
Landscape Contracting Clouse, Carey clouse@umass.edu
Latin Oswald, Simon Mark 413 545 0512 soswald@umass.edu
Legal Studies Wing, Leah 413-545-5882 lwing@legal.umass.edu
Linguistics Kingston, John 413-545-6833, 413-545-6837 jkingston@linguist.umass.edu
Languages, Literatures and Cultures Carbone, Elena T 413 545 1071 ecarbone@nutrition.umass.edu
Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Lee, Jae-Hwang 413 545 0667 leejh@umass.edu
Management Sharma, Anurag 413 545 5580 sharma@isenberg.umass.edu
Marketing Brashear-Alejandro, Thomas G 413 545 5666 brashear@isenberg.umass.edu
Mathematics Rey-Bellet, Luc 413-545-6020 luc@math.umass.edu
Managerial Economics Gao, Sherry sherrygao@resecon.umass.edu
Microbiology Reed, Heather E 413 545 2532 hreed@umass.edu Interim HPD for S20 & F20
Middle Eastern Studies Shapiro, Susan E 413 545 4464 shapiro@judnea.umass.edu
Music Piilonen, Miriam S mpiilonen@umass.edu
Natural Sciences Fermann, Justin T 413 545 2054 fermann@chem.umass.edu
Natural Resource Conservation Averill, Anne L 413 545 1054 averill@eco.umass.edu
Nursing Dion, Kimberly 413 545 1314 kadion@nursing.umass.edu
Nutrition Carbone, Elena T 413 545 1071 ecarbone@nutrition.umass.edu Temporary for Spring 2024
Operations and Information Management Sheffler, Zach 413-545-5504 zsheffler@isenberg.umass.edu
Philosophy Hardegree, Gary M 413 545 2330 gmh@philos.umass.edu
Physics Yan, Jun 413-545-0853 yan@physics.umass.edu
Political Science Musgrave, Robert P musgrave@umass.edu
Portuguese Marentes, Luis A 413 545 4923 marentes@umass.edu
Psychology Cheries, Erik W 413 545 2655 echeries@psych.umass.edu
Public Health Bertone-Johnson, Elizabeth R 413 577 1672 ebertone@schoolph.umass.edu
Regional Planning Clouse, Carey clouse@umass.edu
Resource Economics Gao, Sherry sherrygao@resecon.umass.edu
Russian, Eurasian and Polish Studies Spector, Regine A 413 545 6175 rspector@polsci.umass.edu
Scandinavian Studies (GSS) Sullivan, Robert G 413 545 6672 sullivan@german.umass.edu
Isenberg School of Management Brashear-Alejandro, Thomas G 413 545 5666 brashear@isenberg.umass.edu Marketing
Isenberg School of Management Lowry, Linda 413-545-4041 llowry@isenberg.umass.edu Hospitality & Tourism Management
Isenberg School of Management Macchiavelli, Marco mmacchiavelli@isenberg.umass.edu Finance
Isenberg School of Management Trafford, Pamela S 413 545 5633 ptrafford@isenberg.umass.edu Accounting
Slavic and East European Studies Spector, Regine A 413 545 6175 rspector@polsci.umass.edu
Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences Mack, Jennifer 413-545-8468 jemack@umass.edu
Sociology Le, C.N. 413-545-4074 cnle@umass.edu
Spanish Marentes, Luis A 413 545 4923 marentes@umass.edu
School of Public Health & Health Sciences Bertone-Johnson, Elizabeth R 413 577 1672 ebertone@schoolph.umass.edu This Subject Area is only for 1-2 credit Honors Independent Study add-ons to non-honors SPHHS root courses.
Sport Management Tyler, David David 413 545 0441 dtyler@isenberg.umass.edu
Public Policy Shoub, Kelsey 413-545-3940 kshoub@umass.edu
Civic Engagement and Service-Learning Keisch, Deborah M dkeisch@umass.edu
Statistics Rey-Bellet, Luc 413-545-6020 luc@math.umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture Barker, Allen V 413 545 4733 barker@umass.edu
Social Thought and Political Economy Losier, Toussaint G 413 545 2751 tlosier@umass.edu
Sustainable Community Development Clouse, Carey clouse@umass.edu
Swedish Sullivan, Robert G 413 545 6672 sullivan@german.umass.edu
Theater Al-Bilali, Judyie 413 545 3490 jalbilali@theater.umass.edu
Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies Willey, Angela R 413 545 1922 awilley@wost.umass.edu
Yiddish Shapiro, Susan E 413 545 4464 shapiro@judnea.umass.edu
[Login]